You are here

Navigation

Navigation is about how participants move between workspaces and the Lobby.

Navigation falls into two fundamentally different categories:

  1. Leaders 'auto-navigating' participants by
    • Opening/closing  workspaces
    • Focusing  participants on a selected item
  2. Participants 'manually' entering
    • the Lobby via the 'Exit workspace' button  of a workspace
    • the Lobby or another workspace via the Navigator

Leaders can, of course, ENTER workspaces or the Lobby also via the Meeting dashboard.

Auto-navigation of participants by the Leader

Automatic navigation by the Leader is the default for regular (online) meetings where all participants work on the same task at a time.

 Auto-navigation by opening and closing of workspaces

To keep all participants in one place, Leaders need to follow the following simple rules:

  1. When all workspaces are closed, participants are navigated automatically to and held in the Lobby
  2. If only one workspace is open, participants are navigated automatically to that workspace

These rules imply, that, if Leaders open more than just one workspace, automatic navigation will not occur meaning that participants can and must navigate 'manually' between workspaces, see below.

On opening another workspace, MeetingSphere assists Leaders in keeping their participants together by informing them that other workspaces are still open and asking them whether they want to close those workspaces. Confirmation closes the other workspaces with the consequence that participants are navigated automatically to the single remaining open workspace.

Workspaces can only be opened when the meeting is open to participants. If one (!) workspace is open for participants when they log in, confirmation of the last mandatory dialogue i.e., if so, the Meeting instruction will trigger automatic navigation to that open workspace. If several workspaces are open, participants are asked to enter a workspace via the Navigator, see below.

Automatic navigation is useful and can be fun. However, if unanticipated, automatic navigation can be disruptive and feel like you're pulling the rug from participants. Consequently, always warn your participants before you close their current workspace so that they can complete what they're doing before they are swooshed away - to the Lobby or to another workspace.

 Auto-navigation with 'Focus'

Leaders can focus participants on a selected item and their view of the workspace that item sits in. Depending on where participants happen to be when the 'focus' command is confirmed, focus involves different levels of automatic navigation.

For example, when a Leader focuses participants on a specific comment of a discussion

  • Participants in that topic are scrolled automatically to the selected comment
  • Participants in a different topic are navigated automatically to the relevant topic and scrolled to the selected comment
  • Participants in the Lobby or another workspace are navigated automatically to the relevant workspace and the relevant topic and scrolled to the selected comment

Focus is only available when there are participants in the meeting. It will open a closed workspace just in time to allow participants to enter.

Focus is useful and can be fun. However, if unanticipated, 'Focus' can be disruptive and feel like you're pulling the rug from participants. Consequently, always warn your participants before you focus so that they can complete what they're doing before they are swooshed away.

Manual navigation by participants

Manual navigation means that participants move between workspaces and the Lobby individually.

Return to the Lobby with 'Exit'

From a workspace, participants can return to the Lobby with the 'Exit' toolbar button, for instance, to review the Meeting instruction  which they can open from the Lobby toolbar, provided that you have created such an instruction.

Note that the Leader's 'Exit' button returns you to the Meeting dashboard, not the Lobby.

Move between workspaces with the Navigator

Participants can move between multiple open workspaces with the Navigator.

Closed workspaces are not shown. Leaders can choose to display Agenda sections in the navigator.

The Leader's version of the Navigator serves as a shortcut between workspaces. It differs from the participant version by displaying all workspaces. Open/close switches indicate the status and allow for the opening and closing of workspaces from within the current workspace.